How to Protect Your Social Media Accounts

3333

Whether you want to close your social media account completely or to remove an employee’s access to your social media account is generally simple across the board says Elizabeth Victor, the author of a recent article, How to Control Access to Your Social Media Accounts. Here’s how to protect your social media accounts.

  1. Facebook

With Facebook, you may opt to remove page admins or close a page account when an employee leaves the company.

To remove an admin, go to your Facebook page and click Settings in the top-right corner of the page. Click Page Roles in the left column to see everyone who has a role on your page.

Click the X next to the name of the person you want to remove and click Save.

Remember that you can also change a user’s page role. This is useful if the person isn’t leaving your organization completely. There are five different types of roles you can select:

  • Admin
  • Editor
  • Moderator
  • Advertiser
  • Analyst

If you want to completely close your business Facebook account, go straight to the General tab. In the bottom-right corner of the screen, find the Remove Page option, click Edit next to it and then click Delete[Your Page].

After you click Save Changes, you can still access it for 14 days. That’s a failsafe in case someone  unintentionally or illegally deleted the page.

  1. Twitter

Twitter uses tokens to give users access to your account. So if you have users who need to be removed, start there.

After you log into your company’s Twitter account, open your profile and click Settings. In the left column, click Apps to see all of the applications that can access your account.

Click Revoke Access next to the one you need to delete.

If you’d like to close your Twitter account for good, click Account in the left column. In the right column, scroll to the bottom of the page and click Deactivate My Account.

Remember that once you click Save Changes, someone else can take your old Twitter handle.

  1. Google+ Managers

Google+ pages work a lot like Facebook pages, except a business page on Google+ also shows up in Google Maps and Google Search.

To remove a Google+ manager, log into Google My Business. Click the Settings wheel and then click the Managers tab.  Find the user you want to remove and click the X next to that person’s name. That user loses his or her manager privileges immediately.

To delete a Google+ page, click Settings and then click Delete Page at the bottom of the page.

Don’t forget that if you have a YouTube account connected with your business page, you have to delete the YouTube account first

Reminder

Change the password immediately after an employee shake-up and notify all concerned. You may consider moving to third-party social media management software that allows you to grant access without disclosing delicate information.

Conclusion

Adequate knowledge on how to protect  access to your social media accounts helps you prevent possible security problems in your business.

Samantha Collier (17 Posts)


Posted on May 1, 2015 in Social Media

Share the Story

About the Author

Back to Top